Mini Caramel Cheesecakes [bite-sized deliciousness]

I am addicted.

IMG_7692

I know, I know. This is horrible news to you and I should really try to get away from this stuff. But I can’t. It’s just NOT possible. I always get back to this creamy, sugary, honey golden treat.

During my New Year’s Trip to Ireland [Photos will be soon online here] we discovered a gorgeous, cute and fantastic gay café in Dublin where we also had our Dinner on New Year’s Eve. Besides the super tasty main course they had the most amazing cakes for desert! The cake I had was epic!! When our host Al said the magic words “.. and we also have a Caramel Cheesecake topped with Pecans and Chocolate” I had an instant smile on my face – I knew this would be a great night! And I was right! The cake was even better than I imagined it and left me with a round belly and a satisfied grin.
IMG_7680

Ever since that evening I can’t forget about the lovely combination of cheesecake and caramel. So when fellow Bloggerette Clara from tastesherrif announced the theme for her monthly baking event [ CHEESECAKE! ] it only took me seconds to decide what I would try to bake.

IMG_7687

And so the search began. None of the recipes I found online really convinced me, but after some little changes here and there I am happy to present you the final result! But be careful – if you’re addicted to caramel or cheesecake you might not want to read more and eventually increase your addiction.

Mini Caramel Cheesecakes

makes about 20 mini cakes

  • 340g unsalted cream cheese
  • 60g sugar
  • 60g whipping cream
  • 1 egg
  • 60g caramel sauce
  • 90g whole wheat cookies (e.g. graham crackers)
  • 2 tbsp. softened butter
  • And some extra tbsp. caramel sauce for the topping

I used a mini muffin tray made of silicone, so I could easily remove the cheesecakes. If you only have metal trays you should probably line them with paper muffin cups!
Preheat oven to 350° F.

Crush crackers in a small bowl, add butter and mix with fork. Put the mix into mini muffin trays (about 2 teaspoons per muffin). Flatten with a little glass or a bottle cap.
Add cream cheese, sugar, whipping cream, egg and caramel to a bigger bowl and beat until mixed. Pour mix evenly in the muffin pan.
Bake for 15-17 minutes. [Pro-Tip: If you want to make sure the cheesecake won’t crack, place the muffin tray in a hot water bath while baking!] Let it cool down for at least an hour before removing the cheesecakes from the pan.
Drizzle with caramel and serve.

All done!

IMG_7694

Bite-sized (or maybe two bites) deliciousness is waiting to be eaten by you and maybe some of your lucky friends!

Do you love caramel as much as I do? Or is there something else that is your weak spot?

Have a lovely week and HAPPY BAKING!

xo Kristin

Leave a Reply

