Lace Pancakes

Hey guys!

 

Those of you who know me personally would probably agree with me when I say I usually have a lot of patience in the kitchen. Spending hours decorating cakes – no problem! Baking a ton of christmas cookies – no worries! Making last minute cupcakes for a friends café – easy!

But I have to admit that from time to time I come across a recipe that drives me nuts! Mostly that is because something’s not working out the way I planned it – and my inner perfectionist goes berserk!

Now I present you the story of how those pancakes and I were extremely mad at eachother but managed to become friends in the end:

IMG_9292

Some time ago I stumbled upon a recipe for lace pancakes and – BOOM! – love at first sight. I knew I had to try them for #PANCAKEAPRIL. So I planned to use an empty honey squeeze bottle to draw the lace design. But that plan failed miserably.

Instead of delicate lines of batter I ended up with pancake puddles that looked nothing like lace. Tantrum no. 1. Okay. Breathe. Just be more careful this time and it’ll work out, I told myself. And I even managed to produce something remotely heartshaped. Then I tried to flip it – and it fell apart! Tantrum no. 2. So I put everything aside and thought for a while. I wanted this to work!

Eventually I decided to use a disposable piping bag and – HOORAY! – it worked! It still took me a couple of pancakes to get the hang of it but skill comes with practice and in the end they looked really neat!

IMG_9293

 

So here comes the fool-proof recipe (you still need a bit of patience!):

 

Lace Pancakes

makes about 20

  • 120g flour
  • 1 egg
  • 240ml milk
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 pinch of salt

 

Preheat a non-stick pan at low heat.

Combine all ingredients to a runny batter without lumps. [If there are still some lumps in it – pass the batter through a sieve and you will have a pefectly smooth batter!] Pour batter into a disposable piping bag and carefully cut off a tiny bit of the tip. [You don’t want the hole to be too big otherwise you won’t be able to control the batter]

First draw a heart shape in the pan, then fill it in with swirling movements. Try to work as quick as possible. Let it fry for half a minute, then flip it carefully and cook from other side. Repeat until you used all the batter. You can use one of these to secure the piping bag in between the pancakes.

Top the pancakes with confectioners sugar and serve!

IMG_9308

Sounds easy, doesn’t it? 😀 It’s really not that hard once you got the hang of it!

IMG_9314

I think those pancakes would make a lovely romantic surprise, don’t you?

Have a wonderful time!

And: HAPPY #PANCAKEAPRIL!

IMG_9310

 

xo Kristin

Leave a Reply

