Pikelets [memories of new zealand]

IMG_0186

Some of you already know. New Zealand is my second home since I spent my year abroad over there. I immediately fell for this country and its people. Head over heels. But it’s kinda impossible not to. Everybody is so kind, relaxed and the scenery is breathtaking!

I’ve been there for 10 month traveling all across the north and south island. Right at the beginning I found a job at an oyster factory. It wasn’t as bad as it sounds! At least I got to meet the “real” kiwis there. No tour guide, travel advisor whatsoever. Half of the staff consisted of Maori people and at tea breaks or smoke outs everybody talked about last night’s rugby game, horse betting and all kinds of food. And one of my co-workers regularly made pikelets for the whole crew. Pike-what you may ask… Pikelets are not so different from regular pancakes. They’re just a bit smaller, more dense and usually eaten cold. But believe me: They taste amazing! You can drizzle them with lemon juice and sprinkle a bit sugar on top or serve them with jam and cream or butter.

IMG_0173

IMG_0189

I prefer the lemon version but it’s really up to you – they’re both amazing!

Pikelets

makes about 30

  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • butter

 

Mix flour and sugar. Whisk together egg and milk and add the dry ingredients.

Heat up a pan on medium heat. Pour little spoons of batter onto the hot surface and cook them for about 1 minute from each side or until golden.

Let them cool and serve.

IMG_0166

Here are some of my favorite pictures from my journey to get your travel bug really excited:

 

 

Today is a big national holiday in New Zealand and Australia with military parades and services to honor the soliders that fought in WW1, the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps – short: ANZAC. That’s why today’s called ANZAC Day. I’m sure some families enjoyed fresh pikelets for tea today!

IMG_0151

So: Lest we forget!  And have a wonderful weekend!

If you want to hear more about my travels, let me know in the comments!

HAPPY #PANCAKEAPRIL!

 

xo Kristin

3 thoughts on “Pikelets [memories of new zealand]

Leave a Reply

