Grilled Fruit Salad

No worries – there’s nothing wrong with your eyes. I actually used the words fruit and grilled in the same sentence.

Not possible, you say? Oh, it is possible! And utterly delicious!

GegrillterObstsalat5

But let me get the story right. We’re living in the countryside and call a big garden – and two ginormous cherry trees – our own. For about a week or so we have so many cherries we could swim in them. My brain constantly works on new cherry recipes – I’m sure it won’t be long until cherries conquer my dreams. The return of Cherryzilla! Oh my.. this would be a pretty rad dream.

But what are we going to do with all those cherries. My family isn’t really into cake at the moment so that limits my choice a bit. But a few weeks ago I already had the idea to grill fresh fruit – and tadaaaaaa! – a new recipe idea was born.

GegrillterObstsalat1

I decided to try it with stone fruit first. I used cherries, nectarines and plums because they are easy to grill thanks to their firm pulp. But don’t hesitate to try this recipe with different fruit as well. I imagine pineapple, pear and Co. would work great, too.

Since I didn’t want (and probably wouldn’t be allowed) to use a charcoal grill in my place / on my balcony I just used a griddle pan and it worked perfectly! I was even able to produce a bit of smoke 😉

But enough storytelling. I for one could eat another bowl of this fruit salad right now. What about you? Here’s the recipe:

GegrillterObstsalat3

 

Grilled Fruit Salad

makes 2 servings

  • 1 nectarine (ripe, but not too soft)
  • 2 plums
  • about 10 cherries
  • 4 tbsp orangejuice
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2-3 tbsp Greek Yoghurt
  • some honey

 

Wash and dry the fruit. Halve everything and remove the pit. Don’t worry though if you can’t remove the pit ( I had this Problem with my plums). Just try to cut around the pit like you would do with a mango. Try to keep the chunks as big as possible.

Heat the griddle pan on high heat and then place the fruit (cut side first) onto the hot surface. Let it roast for a couple of minutes and check regularly so nothing burns too badly. Remove fruit from pan and put it on a big cutting board. Chop into bitesized pieces and put everything in a bowl.

Mix the orangejuice and maplesyrup. Pour it over the fruit and mix well. Serve in little bowls topped with a dab of Greek Yogurt and a drizzle of honey.

GegrillterObstsalat4

I have to admit, I thought this would be a lot more difficult. But it took me only about 15-20 minutes and everything turned out wonderful. If you’re cooking for more people it’s also no problem to make larger amounts of it. Just grill small portions of fruit at a time.

GegrillterObstsalat2

 

What about you guys? Did you try grilled fruit before? Did you like it?

 

 

xo Kristin

 

 

Leave a Reply

