Apple Gugls with Poppyseed Filling

At the moment I spend my days and nights surrounded by other cultures, because I’m tutoring the foreign exchange students from my university. Sounds  exciting, and it really is! But it’s also exhausting. In those moments you realize how much you like your own culture’s habits!

It’s still a lot of fun though. After another long day out and about I’m really happy to come home, head straight to the kitchen and start baking. Because I can make the rules there and none of the ingredients will be too late 😉

ApfelMohnGugl2

A couple of days ago when I went After-Work-Grocery-Shopping a big bag of poppyseed made it into my cart – I always wanted to bake something with poppyseed! But then I realized it’s not that easy to use because you have to be careful not to overdose your friends and family with morphine… Well, no risk, no fun 😀 So I went ahead and tried a bit & now I can present you a yummy – and totally safe – recipe:

ApfelMohnGugl4

Apple Gugls with Poppyseed Filling

makes about 35 Mini Gugls

  • 1 apple
  • 100g sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar
  • 125ml oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1pinch of salt
  • 200g flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 250ml milk
  • 40g custard powder
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 40g poppyseed
  • 250g creamcheese
  • 3-4 tbsp powdered sugar

 

Preheat the oven to 180°C (360°F). Peel, core and grate the apple. Add sugar, vanilla sugar, oil, eggs and salt and mix well. Use another bowl to combine flour and baking powder. Add to the apple mix and stir until combined.

Grease a Mini Gugl tray (if you don’t have one just use whatever mini shape suits you best – e.g. muffins, doughnuts,…). Add batter and bake for 12-15 minutes. Let them cool completely and remove from tray.

Grind poppyseed. Pour 3/4 of the milk into a little pot, add poppyseed and bring to a boil. Mix the rest of the milk, custard powder and sugar in a little bowl. When the milk starts to boil add the custard mix and stir until it’s thickening. Transfer to a bowl and let it cool down.

Mix the poppyseed custard with creamcheese and powdered sugar, scoop into an icing bag and pipe it into the gugls.

ApfelMohnGugl3 ApfelMohnGugl5

The sweet, nicely moist batter and the somewhat nutty taste of the poppyseed frosting make a great pair and also look really nice! I promise, it’ll be hard to resist these little sweeties…

 

Take care, sweethearts and  HAPPY BAKING!

xo Kristin

 

PS: I promise to translate all my german recipes to English in the next couple of weeks! I guess, I have a lot of homework to do…

Leave a Reply

